BtB’s Free Reading Series Returns

… And it features three of the hottest debuts of the summer. Join us for our first Reading Series of the season to hear new work receiving rave reviews by Mia Alvar, Stephanie Clifford and Julia Pierpont. With New York City featuring as the backdrop to this month’s stores – of fitting in, finding out, or starting over – we’re excited to return to our favorite NYC literary haunt to host these three talented writers!

Thursday September 10 at KGB Bar and Red Room, 85 East 4th Street. 7-9pm

September readers 2015-08-30 at 5.29.32 PM

Mia Alvar’s nine globe-trotting, unforgettable stories vividly give voice to the women and men of the Filipino diaspora. Here are exiles, emigrants, and wanderers uprooting their families from the Philippines to begin new lives in the Middle East, the United States, and elsewhere—and, sometimes, turning back again.

In the Country speaks to the heart of everyone who has ever searched for a place to call home. From teachers to housemaids, from mothers to sons, Alvar’s powerful debut collection explores the universal experiences of loss, displacement, and the longing to connect across borders both real and imagined. Deeply compassionate and richly felt, In the Country marks the emergence of a formidable new writer.

Mia’s work has been cited for distinction in The Best American Short Stories, twice nominated for the Pushcart Prize and published in One Story, The Missouri Review, the Cincinnati Review, and elsewhere. In the Country was an Amazon Best Book of the Month for June 2015, a Summer 2015 Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection, a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice and a San Francisco Chronicle Recommended Book.

Stephanie Clifford’s Everybody Rise is set in 2006 in the Manhattan of the young and glamorous. Money and class are colliding in a city that is about to go over a financial precipice and take much of the country with it. At 26, bright, funny and socially anxious Evelyn Beegan is determined to carve her own path in life and free herself from the influence of her social-climbing mother, who propelled her through prep school and onto the Upper East Side. Evelyn has long felt like an outsider to her privileged peers, but when she gets a job at a social network aimed at the elite, she’s forced to embrace them.

Bracing, hilarious and often poignant, Stephanie Clifford’s debut offers a thoroughly modern take on classic American themes – money, ambition, family, friendship – and on the universal longing to fit in.

Julia Pierpont’s Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel for fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld. It is a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.

Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack’s secret life. The package is addressed to his wife, Deb, but it’s delivered into the wrong hands: her children’s.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life—their brittleness, and their resilience.

Join us on the 10th to hear from these three new authors to watch!